A Bloody Path To The Ballot Box

I vote because so many have sacrificed so much for me and mine.

Telegenic Black Male Manufactured Charismatic Leadership
I neither support nor oppose Barack Obama and have really come to resent the assumption that my vote for him is a given.

The names of Jesse Jackson and Colin Powell came up in discussions on potential first African American presidential contenders, but not once during this 2-year campaign did I hear the name of the late Honorable Shirley Chisholm. On January 23, 1972, she became the first major party African American candidate for President of the United States.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Roll Call
As an Afriles feminist independent critical thinker I’m not willing to
quietly ignore the historical and contemporary contribution of everyday
folk and a few extraordinary Black women who’ve made it possible for me to cast my vote.


Freedom Summer

So as I cast my mail ballot today, I call out the names of ancestors’ known and unknown who have cleared the path.


Shirley Chisholm

Carol Moseley Braun


Barbara Jordan


Fannie Lou Hammer


Let’s flip the script in 2008 and remember the womenfolk this time around.

Leave a Reply

